11/08/2015

by Denimbeard

A few things I wanted to reflect on.

Recently, a close friend of mine was talking to me about some money issues and I took it on myself to make sure she had some easily shipped over basic needs. She confessed to me that no one else she knew would have done what I did. Lately, I’ve been thinking about how I’m more finically equipped then most of my peers to be able to donate my time and savings for people who need it. What strikes me as odd is that I don’t think I’ve seen my family members do Much of the same. My mother is known for giving food and clothing to certain people and organizations, but I feel a need to contribute a great deal more then anything I’ve seen my relatives do. So now I face a new puzzle, what has sparked this change from growing up selfish and cold to wanting to share and build? Is it possible for philanthropy to be a sudden and sparked motivation? Is compassion truly embedded within our DNA in a way that once we are “safe” we wish others to be safe as well?

If this is the case then hos is there still a hard divide between us as a species? How can we grow and cultivate a [safeness] that whole communities can experience? If possible, I feel that the answers are much simpler then the questions. Part of what has sparked my personal growth into a position of being able to empathize and assist has to be imbedded in recent lifestyle changes. I sleep regularly,[I have a feeling I was going to elaborate on my decisions to grow more healthy, but forgot.] but there are a few real things to point out.

Rules for Living Charitably:

1.) Remember who comes first. You cannot give without taking care of yourself first. Eat, sleep find a hobby, buy a plant and a pet, set a routine, then you can start helping others.

2.) Small gestures are just as impactful as grand ones. Sometimes, even more so. Consider the joy of a child when presented with an interesting rock. Is their joy any less because of the simplicity?

3.) Always expect nothing in return. Arguably the most important. When I send gifts or care packages, it is for the sake of doing so. Too many people will wrap themselves in expectations.

4.) Remember that not all gifts can be appreciated. Do not take a refused or lack luster response as a personal insult. Are there no instances when you found yourself unable to thank someone at the time, but appreciated their efforts nonetheless?

5.) As a rule for all giving, I attempt to think through and personalize my gifts. Learn about the people, club, event you are trying to support and make sure you are doing your best to assist. When in doubt, ask.

Simple things that are hard to do. The challenge of man is to fight against the selfish urge to obtain and grow self power, but instead to grow and develop community. I think a large part of these ideas stem from my faith in Viking/Pagan gods. From the community powered faiths we see the most communal impact. Not to say that other religions do not foster the same mindset, my personal faith just relates that to me for a higher degree.

